2021 Call for Code Awards: Live from New York, with SNL’s Colin Jost! Learn more

Learn the Basics: Getting up and Running

A Developer’s Introduction to Containers and Orchestration with Kubernetes

Containers and Kubernetes are inescapable buzzwords in the industry when we discuss cloud and cloud native deployments. This talk aims to talk about how we got here, what it all means, and how to use these things in practice. There are significant benefits to working with containers. Some of the reasons to choose containerization include resource management, security, and portability. Despite the benefits, the technology and the ecosystem around them is overwhelming. This talk aims to demystify much of this complexity and set you on your journey to build smart on Kubernetes.

Optionally, you’re encouraged to install Docker Desktop and enable Kubernetes inside the application to follow along.

Lab: Red Hat OpenShift 4.3 on IBM Cloud

In this lab, learn the basics of Red Hat OpenShift on IBM Cloud using real world scenarios of deploying a sample health care application, including using the web console and command-line interfaces (CLI). In a few exercises, we’ll get familiar with the dashboard, deploy a containerized application from source code, monitor workloads both graphically and through logs, and talk about scaling our application.

For those viewing the video replay, the Open Lab environment is available at the link below. Labs are limited in availability and will be distributed on a first come, first serve basis.

https://developer.ibm.com/openlabs/openshift

Day 1 Schedule:

  • 2:00 PM GMT/3:00 PM CET – Keynote
  • 2:20 PM GMT/3:20 PM CET – A Developer’s Introduction to Containers and Orchestration with Kubernetes
  • 3:00 PM GMT/4:00 PM CET – Break
  • 3:10 PM GMT/4:10 PM CET – Lab: Red Hat OpenShift 4.3 on IBM Cloud
  • 4:00 PM GMT/5:00 PM CET – Office Hours