2021 Call for Code Awards: Live from New York, with SNL’s Colin Jost! Learn more

Explore Applications: Operating our Clusters

Introduction to Operators

Building on our introduction to OpenShift, we’ll bring the concept of operators into our OpenShift ecosystem. Operators help us unlock the potential of Kubernetes and OpenShift by providing tools for helping us further automate the orchestration of our workloads. If you’ve ever wondered how to manage and package your applications developed with Kubernetes, operators may be the solution you seek. We’ll cover the basics of operators in Kubernetes, the OpenShift OperatorHub, Red Hat Marketplace, as well as other OpenShift tooling, and some resources for building your own custom operators. (https://www.redhat.com/cms/managed-files/cl-oreilly-kubernetes-operators-ebook-f21452-202001-en_2.pdf)

Lab: Operators, Cloudant, and OpenShift 4.3

The Example Health application deployed in Lab 1 is using an in-memory patient database. In this exercise, create a Cloudant service in IBM Cloud and populate it with patient data. Cloudant is a NoSQL database-as-a-service, based on CouchDB.

For those viewing the video replay, the Open Lab environment is available at the link below. Labs are limited in availability and will be distributed on a first come, first serve basis.

https://developer.ibm.com/openlabs/openshift

Day 2 Schedule:

  • 2:00 PM GMT/3:00 PM CET – Intro
  • 2:10 PM GMT/3:10 PM CET – Introduction to Operators
  • 3:00 PM GMT/4:00 PM CET – Break
  • 3:10 PM GMT/4:10 PM CET – Lab: Operators, Cloudant, and OpenShift 4.3
  • 4:00 PM GMT/5:00 PM CET – Office Hours