构建一个区块链保险应用程序  

使用 Hyperledger Fabric 构建一个基于 Web 的区块链保险应用程序

Last updated | By Ishan Gulhane

Description

借助分布式账本、智能合约和不可抵赖功能,区块链正在改变金融组织执行业务的方式,保险行业也不例外。本 Code Pattern 将展示如何使用 Hyperledger Fabric 实现一个基于 Web 的区块链应用程序,以方便保险销售和理赔。

概览

我们大部分人都是这样:您刚刚发生了一起轻微交通事故,现在您很怕与您的保险公司、清查人员和其他驾驶员交涉会花费大量的时间和精力。即使事情进展得相对顺利,仍会严重打乱您的日程安排。

但是,如果您是一位开发人员,您可以扭转乾坤并实际改进保险行业,结果会怎样呢?如果您不仅能改进自己的体验,还能改进全球数百万遭遇同样的不便、延误和管理挫折的人的体验,结果会怎样呢?好了,您的机会来了。

区块链为保险行业带来了一个巨大机会。它提供了革新交换数据、处理索赔和预防欺诈的方式的机会。区块链可以汇集来自科技公司、监管机构和保险公司的开发人员,创建一种宝贵的新型保险管理资产。

天生一对

作为一个共享基础架构,区块链借助其分布式账本、智能合约和不可抵赖功能,可以改造所有类型的保险流程。目前,许多保险流程都是手动的,容易出错,而且可能需要很长的处理时间。相同的数据在多个记录系统中往往有不同的版本,这会导致成本增加和漫长的争议。

借助区块链,可通过共享计划参与者信息、授权和索赔数据,实现手动流程的自动化。智能合约是按照参与者注册和验证规则通过计算方式进行编码的。共享数据和智能合约计算减少了下游争议。收益验证基于所有服务提供者可轻松获得的多个数据来源。

我们的基本论点是:区块链技术让保险行业有机会提高其运营效率,降低事务处理成本,增强客户体验,提高数据质量,并增加各方之间的信任。

完成本 Code Pattern 后,您将学会如何构建一个有效的区块链保险应用程序。该应用程序将有 4 个参与者或对等节点

  • Insurance
  • Police
  • Repair shop
  • Shop

Insurance 对等节点是为产品(在我们例子中为汽车)提供保险并负责处理索赔的公司。Police 对等节点负责核查事故或被盗索赔。Repair Shop 对等节点负责修理产品。Shop 对等节点向用户销售产品。

应用程序的工作原理

该应用程序的实际工作原理是什么?设想一位运动爱好者 Susie 决定购买一辆新自行车。她前往自行车店,并找到了一辆令人惊喜的越野自行车。在购买过程中,她获得了一份保险合约,她也认为这份合约值得拥有。她签署了合约,并提供了她的个人数据及合约的开始日期和结束日期。在处理完合约后,将会按照链代码中的一个公式来计算每日价格。当所有文件齐全后,Suzie 获得了登录凭证,因此,如果需要提出索赔,她随时可以登录。此刻,一个区块被写入区块链中,用于维护该事务。

幸亏买了保险,10 天后,Susie 在骑到伯克利山时,她的自行车被盗了。向警察报告这次盗窃后,她打开应用程序上的自助服务选项卡,登录,描述了被盗情况,然后她向保险公司提出索赔。当她提交索赔时,索赔作为另一次事务被写入到区块中。索赔首先由警察进行处理,警察可以确认或否认此次盗窃;在本例中,盗窃被确认,警察附加了一个文件引用编号,然后另一个区块被写入区块链中。(同样地,如果 Suzie 提交了一个导致自行车损坏的自行车事故的索赔,则由修理厂而不是警察来处理索赔。)保险公司监控区块链上所有有效的索赔,当警察提交检验结果时,该公司会收到确认并提交索赔赔偿。就像以前的事务一样,赔偿事务被写入到区块链中。Susie 高兴地看到保险公司支付了她的索赔 – 虽然找不回自己的自行车让人有点不太高兴!

请注意,保险公司可以选择激活或停用某些合约。这并不意味着客户已签署的合约不再有效,只是代表着不允许再签署这些类型的合约。此外,保险公司可以创建包含不同条款和条件(或不同定价结构)的新合约模板。

这个基于 Web 的应用程序是用 Node.js 和 Reacts 编写的。应用程序链代码(即智能合约)是用 Go 语言编写的。

所以在您下一次驾车或骑行遇到问题时,不用担心那些不好的事会影响您的日程安排。完成本 Code Pattern,构建您的区块链技能,帮助改善整个行业!

  1. 为对等节点生成证书。
  2. 为网络构建 Docker 镜像。
  3. 启动保险网络。

相关博客

相关链接

Hyperledger Composer 基础

详细讲解了 Hyperledger Composer 的基础知识,并带领您完善并部署你自己的区块链网络

面向区块链网络的 Hyperledger Fabric 的 6 大技术优势

借助其彻底改变行业运营模式的潜力,区块链正成为全球最激动人心的新技术之一。为您的行业解决方案选择区块链平台时,要考虑的最重要的属性有哪些?这个 6 大优势列表将逐一剖析这些属性。

Taxonomy Icon

Blockchain

Build a blockchain insurance app

Get the code View the demo

Summary

With its distributed ledger, smart contracts, and non-repudiation capabilities, blockchain is revolutionizing the way financial organizations do business, and the insurance industry is no exception. This code pattern shows you how to implement a web-based blockchain app using Hyperledger Fabric to facilitate insurance sales and claims.

Description

This pattern has been updated to support Hyperledger Fabric V1.1.

Most of us have been there: you’ve just had a fender-bender and now you’re dreading the time and effort it is going to take to deal with your insurance company, the police, and the other driver. Even if things go relatively smoothly, it is still a major disruption of your schedule.

But what if you as a developer could turn things around and actually disrupt the insurance industry? What if you could improve not only your own experience but also that of millions of people around the world dealing with the same inconveniences, delays, and administrative frustrations? Well, this is your chance.

Blockchain presents a huge opportunity for the insurance industry. It offers the chance to innovate around the way data is exchanged, claims are processed, and fraud is prevented. Blockchain can bring together developers from tech companies, regulators, and insurance companies to create a valuable new insurance management asset.

A natural pairing

Through its distributed ledger, smart contracts, and non-repudiation capabilities that act as a shared infrastructure, blockchain can transform all kinds of insurance processes. Currently, many insurance processes are manual, error prone, and can require long processing times. There are often different versions of the same data in multiple systems of record, leading to added costs and lengthy disputes.

With blockchain, manual processes are automated by sharing information on plan participants, entitlements, and claim data. Smart contracts are computationally encoded with participant registration and verification rules. Shared data and smart contract computations reduce downstream disputes. Benefits verification is based on multiple data sources that are readily available to all service providers.

Here is the bottom line: blockchain technology provides an opportunity for the insurance industry to improve their operating efficiency, lower the costs of transaction processing, enhance the customer experience, improve data quality, and increase trust between parties.

When you complete this code pattern, you will know how to build a functional blockchain insurance app. The app will have four participants, or peers:

  • Insurance
  • Police
  • Repair shop
  • Shop

The Insurance peer is the company that provides the insurance for the product (in our example, the car) and who is responsible for processing the claims. The Police peer is responsible for verifying the accident or theft claims. The Repair shop peer is responsible for repairs of the product. The Shop peer sells the products to a consumer.

How it works

So how does the app actually work? Imagine a sport enthusiast, Susie, decides she wants to purchase a new bike. She goes to the bike shop and finds an amazing deal on a road racer. As part of the purchase process, she is offered an insurance contract, which she agrees is important to have. She signs up for it, providing her personal data along with a start and end date for the contract. The daily price is calculated by a formula in the chaincode once the contract is processed. When all the paperwork is complete, Suzie is given credentials so she can log in at any time if she needs to file a claim. At this point, a block is written to the blockchain to maintain the transaction.

As luck would have it, ten days later her bike is stolen when she rides up to the Berkeley Hills. After reporting the theft to the police, she opens the self-service tab on the app, logs in, describes the theft, and files her claim with the insurance company. When she submits the claim, it is written onto the block as another transaction. The claim is first processed by the police, who can either confirm or deny the theft; in this case, the theft is confirmed, the police attach a file reference number, and another block is written to the chain. (In the same manner, if Suzie had filed a claim for a bike accident that resulted in damage to the bike, it would be a repair shop that processed the claim instead of the police.) The insurance company monitors all active claims on the blockchain, so when the police submit their verification, the company receives that confirmation and submits a reimbursement for the claim. Just as with the previous transactions, the reimbursement is written to the blockchain. Susie is happy to see that the insurance company has paid her claim, although not quite as happy as she would be if she had her bike back!

Note that insurance companies have the option to activate or deactivate certain contracts. This does not mean that contracts that have already been signed by customers will no longer be valid; it simply does not allow new signings for these types of contracts. In addition, the insurance company can create new contract templates with different terms and conditions, or a different pricing structure.

The web-based application is written in Node.js and Reacts. The application chaincode (that is, the smart contracts) is written in the Go language.

So do not fret about possible disruptions to your routine the next time you have a bit of automotive, or cycling, bad luck. Complete this code pattern, build your blockchain skills, and help disrupt an entire industry!

Flow

flow

  1. Generate certificates for peers.
  2. Build Docker images for the network.
  3. Start the insurance network.

Instructions

To put this code pattern to use, see the complete details for running and using this application in the README.