通过增强现实技术关联航班与天气数据  

在移动增强现实应用程序中关联航班与天气数据

| By Sanjeev Ghimire, Sanjay Saxena

Description

空中流动着许多数据,您可以使用软件定义无线电技术捕获它们。可以通过一个简单的 Raspberry Pi 传感器节点来跟踪附近的每架商业航班,使用天气信息加强该数据,并通过移动增强现实显示屏来呈现它们。

概览

本 Code Pattern 将展示如何使用 Watson IoT Platform 和 Weather Company Data 来集成传感器与移动客户端。借助航空电子领域中的进步和 Raspberry Pi 等容易获得的廉价计算资源,可以轻松地构建一个简单的地面接收站。在配置后,地面接收站可以通过 Docker 复制它,以支持大片地区。每个地面接收站:

使用一个带天线的 SDR 接收器接收 150 英里半径范围内的航班信息,具体范围取决于海拔高度和视野。软件定义无线电 (SDR) 是一种适合用户、企业和政府应用的新兴技术,通过采用这种技术,可以使用软件而不是定制硬件对无线电信号进行解调。

充当联网的 IoT 设备,以便通过 Watson IoT Platform MQTT 服务发布航班信息。一个 iOS 应用程序订阅该数据流,同时还请求获得飞机所在 GPS 坐标的 Weather Company 温度数据。此信息同时显示在一个地图视图和一个增强现实显示屏中,用户可以朝天空举起手机,手机中就会显示飞机位置图。

  1. Raspberry PI 和 SDR 接收器组成了一个地面接收站,接收并解码来自商业航班的 ADS-B 消息,并将含 JSON 数据的 MQTT 消息发布到 IoT Platform。
  2. 包含设备类型和设备 ID 信息的 IoT Platform 接收 MQTT 消息并将它们发送到某个主题。
  3. 可选的 Streaming Analytics 服务能够在 IoT Platform 中订阅该主题来处理消息。
  4. 可使用来自 Streaming Analytics 服务的数据来创建仪表板。
  5. 该应用程序在 IoT Platform 中订阅该主题,并调用 Weather Company Data API 在一个地图和增强现实视图中呈现航班和天气信息。
  6. Weather Company Data 服务公开了一些使用坐标访问天气数据的 API。

相关博客

相关链接

致谢:

感谢郭迎春对此 Code Pattern 的翻译内容的审核,并提供了宝贵的反馈意见。

Privacy Preference Center

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?

Taxonomy Icon

Analytics

Correlate flight and weather data in augmented reality

Get the code View the demo

Summary

There is a lot of data floating in the air and you can grab it with a Software Defined Radio. It’s possible to track every nearby commercial flight with a simple Raspberry Pi sensor node, enhance the data with weather information, and render it with a mobile augmented reality display.

Description

This code pattern shows how Watson IoT platform and Weather Company data can be used to integrate sensors and mobile clients. With advances in avionics and the availability of cheap computing resources such as Raspberry Pi, a simple ground station may be easily built. Once configured, ground stations can be replicated using Docker to be able to cover large areas. Each ground station:

Uses a SDR receiver with an antenna to receive information about flights within a 150 miles radius, depending on the altitude and the lineB–of-B-sight. Software Defined Radios (SDR) are an emerging technology for consumer, enterprise, and government applications, in which a radio signal is demodulated in software instead of custom hardware.

Act as network-B-connected IoT device to publish the flight information over Watson IoT Platform MQTT services. An iOS application subscribes to the data stream while also requesting Weather Company temperature data for the GPS coordinates of the aircraft. This information is displayed in both a map view and an augmented reality display, in which the user can hold their phone up to the sky with an aircraft location overlay.

Flow

flow

  1. The Raspberry PI plus SDR receiver, representing a Ground Station, receives and decodes ADS-B messages from commercial flights and publishes MQTT messages with JSON payload to the IoT Platform.
  2. The IoT Platform with device-type and device-id receives the MQTT messages and make them available on a topic.
  3. The optional Streaming Analytics service can subscribe to the topic in the IoT Platform to process messages.
  4. The data from the Streaming Analytics service is used to create dashboards.
  5. The app subscribes to the topic in the IoT Platform and invokes the Weather Company Data API to render flight and weather information in a map and augmented reality view.
  6. The Weather Company Data Service exposes APIs to access weather data using coordinates.

Instructions

Ready to put this code pattern to use? Complete details on how to get started running and using this application are in the README.