数字化开发者大会:混合云 (亚太地区专场:9 月 24 日 上午 11:00) 即刻报名

使用 Deep Learning as a Service 创建一个用于图像分类的预测系统

摘要

在本 Code Pattern 中,了解如何通过在 IBM Watson Studio 环境中使用 Jupyter Notebook 来创建和部署深度学习模型。您还可以使用 Watson Studio GUI 创建一些可优化超参数的深度学习实验以监视不同的运行,然后选择要部署的最佳模型。

概览

计算机视觉技术日趋成熟,在某些情况下,机器必须根据图像类别对图像进行分类以帮助作出决策。在本 Code Pattern 中,我们向您展示了如何通过使用 IBM® Watson™ Studio 和 IBM Deep Learning as a Service 进行多类分类(分为三个类别)。我们利用瑜伽姿势数据来识别给定图像的类别。这种方法可以应用于任何需要对多种图像进行准确分类的领域和数据集,并且可以扩展用于进一步的分析。

IBM Deep Learning as a Service 使组织能够克服深度学习部署的常见障碍:技能、标准化和复杂性。它采用了各种常用的开源框架(如 TensorFlow、Caffe、PyTorch 等),并在 IBM Cloud 上作为一项云原生服务提供,从而降低了进入深度学习领域的门槛。它将云服务的灵活性、易用性和经济性与深度学习的计算能力相结合。借助易于使用的 REST API,您可以根据用户需求或预算,使用不同数量的资源来训练深度学习模型。

目前,深度神经网络的训练非常复杂且计算量很大。它需要一个高度调优的系统,适当地组合相应的软件、驱动程序、计算能力、内存、网络和存储资源。为了发掘深度学习的全部潜能,我们希望开发者和数据科学家能够更轻松地访问技术,以便他们可以将更多精力放在做自己擅长的事情上,专注于数据及其优化,利用这些大数据集自动训练神经网络模型,以及创建最先进的模型。

在本 Code Pattern 中,我们演示了如何在 Watson Studio 环境中使用 Jupyter Notebook(使用 GPU)来创建和部署深度学习模型。您还可以使用 Watson Studio GUI 创建一些可优化超参数的深度学习实验(使用 GPU)以监视不同的运行,然后选择要部署的最佳模型。

完成本 Code Pattern 后,您将掌握如何:

  • 预处理图像以便可随时将其用于模型构建
  • 访问 IBM Cloud Object Storage 中的图像数据并将预测的输出写入到 Cloud Object Storage
  • 创建一个分步式深度学习模型(基于代码),该模型包含用于对图像进行准确分类的灵活的超参数
  • 在 Watson Studio(基于 GUI)中创建一些实验,以便部署可优化超参数的最先进的模型
  • 创建可视化以便更好地了解模型预测
  • 解释模型摘要并使用测试数据生成预测
  • 分析结果以作进一步处理,从而生成建议或做出明智的决策

流程

流程

  1. 用户将图像数据上传到 IBM Cloud Object Storage。
  2. 用户访问 Jupyter Notebook 中的数据。
  3. 用户运行具有深度学习 CNN 模型和可调优超参数的基线模型 Notebook。
  4. 该 Notebook 使用训练和验证数据集中的样本图像进行训练,并使用深度学习模型对测试数据图像进行分类。
  5. 用户可以使用 REST 客户机将图像分类为不同的类别。
  6. 用户可以将预测的输出(采用 .csv 格式)写入到 Cloud Object Storage,以供下载来进行进一步的分析。

操作说明

可以在 README 中找到本 Code Pattern 的详细步骤。这些步骤将展示如何:

  1. 创建一个 IBM Cloud 帐户。
  2. 创建一个新的 Watson Studio 项目。
  3. 创建 Notebook。
  4. 添加数据。
  5. 插入凭证。
  6. 运行该 Notebook。
  7. 分析结果。
  8. 访问 Cloud Object Storage 存储区。
  9. 运行该 Notebook 并将其发布到 Watson Machine Learning。
  10. 使用 GPU 创建一些实验来优化超参数。

本文翻译自:Create a predictive system for image classification using Deep Learning as a Service(2019-11-05)

Kubernetes with OpenShift World Tour: Get hands-on experience and build applications fast! Find a workshop!

Create a predictive system for image classification using Deep Learning as a Service

Summary

In this pattern, learn how to create and deploy deep learning models by using a Jupyter Notebook in an IBM Watson Studio environment. You also create deep learning experiments with hyperparameters optimization by using a Watson Studio GUI for monitoring different runs, then select the best model for deployment.

Description

Computer vision is on the rise, and there might be scenarios where a machine must classify images based on their class to aid in the decision-making process. In this code pattern, we demonstrate how to do multiclass classification (with three classes) by using IBM® Watson™ Studio and IBM Deep Learning as a Service. We use yoga postures data to identify the class given an image. This methodology can be applied to any domain and data set that requires multiple classes of images to be classified accurately and can be extended for further analysis.

IBM Deep Learning as a Service enables organizations to overcome the common barriers to deep learning deployment: skills, standardization, and complexity. It embraces a wide variety of popular open source frameworks like TensorFlow, Caffe, PyTorch, and others, and offers them as a cloud-native service on IBM Cloud, lowering the barrier to entry for deep learning. It combines the flexibility, ease-of-use, and economics of a cloud service with the compute power of deep learning. With easy-to-use REST APIs, you can train deep learning models with different amounts of resources per user requirements or budgets.

Currently, training of deep neural networks is highly complex and computationally intensive. It requires a highly tuned system with the right combination of software, drivers, computing power, memory, network, and storage resources. To realize the full potential of deep learning, we want the technology to be more easily accessible to developers and data scientists so that they can focus more on doing what they do best, concentrating on data and its refinements, training neural network models with automation over these large data sets, and creating cutting-edge models.

In this code pattern, we demonstrate how to create and deploy deep learning models by using a Jupyter Notebook (using CPU) in a Watson Studio environment. You also create deep learning experiments (using GPU) with hyperparameter optimization by using a Watson Studio GUI for monitoring different runs, then select the best model for deployment.

When you have completed this code pattern, you understand how to:

  • Preprocess the images to get them ready for model building
  • Access the image data from IBM Cloud Object Storage and write the predicted output to Cloud Object Storage
  • Create a step-by-step deep learning model (code-based) that includes flexible hyperparameters to classify the images accurately
  • Create experiments in Watson Studio (GUI-based) for deploying state-of-the-art models with hyperparameter optimization
  • Create visualizations for a better understanding of the model predictions
  • Interpret the model summary and generate predictions using the test data
  • Analyze the results for further processing to generate recommendations or taking informed decisions

Flow

flow

  1. User uploads image data to IBM Cloud Object Storage.
  2. User accesses the data in a Jupyter Notebook.
  3. User runs the baseline model Notebook that has the deep learning CNN model along with tunable hyperparameters.
  4. Notebook trains on the sample images from the train and validation data sets and classifies the test data images using the deep learning model.
  5. User can classify images into different classes using a REST client.
  6. User can write the predicted output to Cloud Object Storage in a .csv format that can be downloaded for further analysis.

Instructions

Find the detailed steps for this pattern in the README. Those steps show you how to:

  1. Create an account with IBM Cloud.
  2. Create a new Watson Studio project.
  3. Create the Notebook.
  4. Add the data.
  5. Insert the credentials.
  6. Run the Notebook.
  7. Analyze the results.
  8. Access the Cloud Object Storage bucket.
  9. Run the Notebook and publish it to Watson Machine Learning.
  10. Create experiments using GPU for hyperparameter optimization.
Sharath Kumar
Manjula Hosurmath