部署无服务器的多语种会议室  

建立多语言沟通渠道,让不同语言的客户无障碍沟通

Description

本 Code Pattern 提供了一种建立沟通渠道的方法,支持不同语言的客户进行无障碍沟通。当参与者位于不同国家或地区的会议室和电话会议时,这种方法尤其有用,不同语言语音被实时翻译成字幕或生成音频。

概览

您是否曾希望不同语言的网游队友能够顺利沟通?是否希望能在聊天室(例如,Slack/Sametime/Zoom 聊天群)中跟使用不同语言的客户有效沟通?是否希望听懂 YouTube 或 Twitch 上的实时广播?抑或是参与网络课堂/网络研讨会?此 Code Pattern 提供了一种方法来实现这一目标:建立沟通渠道,支持使用不同语言的客户无障碍沟通。

此模式利用 MQTT 消息传递协议,允许每个客户发布和“订阅”一个或多个渠道。渠道组成确定了每个客户请求的语言和有效内容类型(例如,fromClient/french/audio)。

每条提交的消息发送到的渠道确定了将以什么顺序调用云功能- 例如,向 fromClient/english/audio 提交消息,将调用 Watson® 语音转文本服务运行音频有效内容,将此结果转发至翻译服务,并将翻译结果分发给所有正在收听的客户。

完成这个 Code Pattern 后,您将掌握如何:

  • 部署 IBM 云功能操作/触发器
  • 与 Watson IoT Platform 交互
  • 设置 Cloud Foundry 应用

  1. 从客户端接收消息,可以是 Web 浏览器、CLI、OpenWhisk 操作、短信等。
  2. 如果消息有效内容包含一个音频文件,它将被转录为文本。
  3. 转录的文本会被翻译为其他受支持的语言。
  4. 如果通过短信发送消息,那么发送方电话号码将被添加到 etcd 键值存储库中。etcd 在这里是用于维护订阅方的电话号码及其相应语言的列表。如果订阅方未参与对话达 300 秒,那么使用可调整的 TTL 值从存储库中移除其电话号码。
  5. 翻译的消息/音频流将发布到 MQTT 代理程序上的各种渠道,随后会在订阅的客户之间分发这些消息。

相关博客

相关链接

设计和构建安全的 IoT 解决方案,第 1 部分: 保护 IoT 设备和网关

这个关于开发安全的 IoT 解决方案由三部分组成,在该系列中,作者将介绍 IoT 漏洞和安全 IoT 应用程序的设计挑战,然后提供经过检验的设备和网关保护技术。例如,作者将讨论设备身份验证(包括基于证书的身份验证)、设备授权和应用程序 ID 验证。

Taxonomy Icon

Serverless

Deploy a serverless multilingual conference room

Get the code Watch the video

Summary

This pattern proposes a method to create a communications channel that allows clients who speak different languages to seamlessly communicate with each other. This channel can be particularly useful in meeting rooms and conference calls where the participants are located in different countries. Translated subtitles, or audio, can be generated and delivered in real time.

Description

Have you ever wished there was a way for online game teammates who speak different languages to communicate effectively? Or how about in chat rooms with many clients, such as a Slack, Sametime, or Zoom chat group? Live broadcasts like on YouTube or Twitch? Or maybe online classes and webinars? This pattern proposes a way to do just that: create a communications channel to allow different-language clients to seamlessly communicate with each other.

This pattern leverages the MQTT messaging protocol, which allows for each client to publish and “subscribe” to one or more channels. The channel makeup determines each client’s requested language and payload type, (fromClient/french/audio, for example).

The channel that each submitted message is sent to determines the sequence of cloud functions that will be called – for example, submitting a message to fromClient/english/audio will run the audio payload through the Watson® Speech to Text service, forward that result to the translator service, and distribute the translated result to all listening clients.

When you have completed this pattern, you will better understand how to:

  • Deploy IBM Cloud Functions actions/triggers
  • Interact with the Watson IoT platform
  • Set up a Cloud Foundry application

Flow

flow

  1. Message received from a client, which can be a web browser, CLI, IBM Cloud Function action, SMS text, etc.
  2. If message payload contains an audio file, it is transcribed to text.
  3. Transcribed text is translated to other supported languages.
  4. If message is sent via SMS, sender phone number is added to an etcd key-value store. etcd is used here to maintain a list of subscribers’ phone numbers, as well as their respective languages. An adjustable TTL value is used here to remove numbers from the store if the subscriber does not participate in the conversation for 300 seconds.
  5. Translated messages/audio streams are published to various channels on the MQTT broker, which then distributes the messages among subscribing clients.

Instructions

Ready to put this code pattern to use? Complete details on how to get started running and using this application are in the README.