检测家用物联网设备中的电压异常  

利用 Node-RED 和 Watson IoT 构建应用,检测传感器数据中的异常

Description

据专家预测,到 2020 年,全世界将会有超过 200 亿个物联网设备,这些设备绝大多数都位于我们自己的家中。本 Code Pattern 将带您抢占先机,提前学习开发家用互联设备。通过使用 Node-RED 和 Watson IoT API,您将学会如何构建认知物联网应用,检测互联家用设备的电压不正常情况。

概览

物联网现已成定局,据 Google 快速搜索结果显示,专家预测到 2020 年,至少 200 亿个设备将实现互联。不管进行什么类型的开发,不论是企业系统还是手机游戏,您都需要了解如何将设备(任何设备)与更广泛的物联网生态系统互联起来。

除了增加数量庞大的互联设备,物联网开发人员还将需要了解 认知 计算。您的应用能否接收给定的输入信息,并从这些数据中学习?

您该从哪里着手呢?就是这里。本 Code Pattern 介绍了构建认知物联网应用的流程。您的应用将在网络边缘进行学习;也就是说,您将使计算远离云端或数据中心,转向接收输入信息的传感器。计算发生在靠近传感器和执行器的网关上(甚至发生在更接近边缘的地方,即在网关与传感器和执行器之间的微控制器上)。

在本 Code Pattern 中,您将利用云技术检测人人都很熟悉的设备 — 洗衣机 — 中的异常。现在,您可能认为监控洗衣机没什么意思,但请想象一下,当您错误地使用热水洗衣服时会发生什么情况。当您发现红毛巾将所有衣服都染成了粉色,惊不惊喜?意不意外?更糟的是,如果洗衣机运行太快怎么办?如果烧坏了电机必须更换,想想头都大了。当然,该掏的钱也少不了。

我们假设您的洗衣机上配备了三个传感器,分别用于监测:

  • 水流温度
  • 水的硬度
  • 电机速度

您可以轻松创建一个应用,与这些传感器通信。当传感器发现不稳定状况时,您的应用会发送一条停止工作的命令。此外,您也能够保存和存储数据,以便在夜间执行批量分析。边缘网关上的机器学习算法可以优化结果,也可以在温度快速上升等情况下主动发出通知。这样,您就可以停用机器,在出现重大故障之前发送服务通知。

您可以查看进展情况。任何可以编写代码为业主省钱的开发人员都会很抢手。完成本 Code Pattern,学习创建宝贵的认知物联网应用,让您的技能与时俱进,当然,也能让衣物干净整洁。

  1. 洗衣机的三个传感器分别用于监测: 1) 水流温度 2) 水的硬度 3) 电机速度。
  2. Node-RED Edge 设备模拟器模拟设备数据;在本例中为模拟的 Raspberry Pi。Raspberry Pi 连接到洗衣机上,数据就可以源源不断地从传感器流入 Raspberry Pi。模拟的 Raspberry Pi(也就是 Node-RED Edge 设备)通过以太网连接到互联网,并将数据传输到 Watson IoT Platform。
  3. Watson IoT Platform 使用 MQTT 消息代理,并充当物联网运作模式中所有组件之间的异步粘合剂。它将数据发回 Node-RED Edge 设备(在现实情况下,如果检测到异常,它会将消息发回机器以停止运行电机)。Watson IoT Platform 也会将数据传输到 Node-RED 云,后者随后将其发送到存储器。
  4. Node-RED 云订阅来自 Watson IoT Platform 的数据。它用于将物联网传感器数据传输到云存储器 (Cloudant),以便稍后可以执行批量分析。
  5. 边缘模型由称为 移动 z 分数 的实时异常检测算法构成,它可以检测传感器时间序列上的异常行为模式。
  6. Cloudant 存储库用于批量分析处理,以便识别发展趋势。

相关博客

相关链接

IoT 101:IoT 开发人员入门指南

利用这篇 developerWorks 快速入门指南,开始开发 IoT 解决方案。本文适合不熟悉物联网技术,而且需要能快速上手的应用程序开发人员。

Detect voltage anomalies in household IoT devices

Get the code View the demo

Summary

Experts predict there will be over 20 billion IoT devices in the world by 2020, with a large percentage of those devices being located in our own homes. This developer journey will give you a head start on developing connected devices in the home. Using Node-RED and Watson IoT APIs, you’ll learn how to build a cognitive IoT application that detects irregularities in the voltage of your connected household devices.

Description

The Internet of Things is now a reality, and according to a quick Google search, experts are predicting that at least 20 billion devices will be connected by 2020. Regardless of the type of development you do, whether enterprise systems or mobile games, you’ll be required to know how to connect a device — any device — to the wider IoT ecosystem.

Beyond adding to the sheer number of connected devices, IoT developers will also require an understanding of cognitive computing. Can your app take the inputs it’s given and learn from that data?

So, where do you start? Right here. This code pattern takes you through the process of building a cognitive IoT application. Your app will learn at the edge of your network; that is, you’ll push computing away from a cloud or data center towards the sensors that are receiving the input. Computations happen at the gateway, close to the sensors and actors (and they can take place even closer to the edge, on a microcontroller between the gateway and the sensors and actors).

In this code pattern, you’ll use the cloud to detect anomalies in a device familiar to everyone, your washing machine. Now, you might think it’s not that exciting to monitor your washing machine, but imagine what happens when you wash in hot water by mistake. There’ll be some excitement when your red towels turn your whole wardrobe pink. Or worse, what if the washer is running too fast? You certainly will get agitated if you have to replace a burned-out motor. And you’ll also be a little bit poorer.

Let’s assume that you have a washing machine with three sensors:

  • Fluid temperature
  • Water hardness
  • Motor speed

You can easily build an app that communicates with those sensors. When a sensor picks up instability, your app sends a command to deactivate. Additionally, you’ll be able to save and store data to perform batch analytics overnight. A machine-learning algorithm on the edge gateway can optimize the results and proactively notice, for example, the temperature is rising at a rapid rate. You can then deactivate the machine and send a service notification before a major catastrophe occurs.

You can see where this is going. Any developer who can write code that will save homeowners real money will be in demand. Complete this code pattern, learn to create valuable cognitive IoT applications, and keep your skills — and laundry — fresh.

Flow

flow

  1. The three washing machine sensors are: 1) fluid temperature 2) water hardness 3) motor speed.
  2. The Node-RED Edge device simulator simulates device data; in this case that is the simulated Raspberry Pi. The Raspberry Pi is attached to the washing machine, with data continually flowing from the sensors to the Raspberry Pi. The simulated Raspberry Pi (that is, the Node-RED Edge device) is connected to the Internet by ethernet and is streaming data to the Watson IoT Platform.
  3. The Watson IoT Platform uses the MQTT Message broker and acts as asynchronous glue between all components in the IoT operational model. It publishes data back to the Node-RED Edge device (in a real world case, if it detects an anomaly, it would send a message back to the machine to deactivate its motor). Watson IoT Platform also streams data to the Node-RED cloud, which subsequently sends it to storage.
  4. The Node-RED Cloud subscribes to the data coming from the Watson IoT Platform. It’s used for streaming IoT sensor data to cloud storage (Cloudant) so that batch analytics can be performed later.
  5. The Edge Model is composed of a real-time anomaly detection algorithm called moving z-score which detects abnormal behavior patterns on sensor time-series.
  6. The Cloudant repository is used for batch analytics processing to identify trends.

Instructions

Ready to put this code pattern to use? Complete details on how to get started running and using this application are in the README.