开发使用机器学习且基于 Web 的移动健康应用  

使用 IBM Cloud 上的 Watson 服务和 IBM Watson Studio 创建基于 Web 的移动健康应用

| By Hovig Ohannessian

Description

此 Code Pattern 向您展示了如何开发和部署基于 Web 的应用,您可在手机上运行此类应用来检查自己的脉搏率,然后使用和其他研究有关的机器学习方法来评估这些脉搏率数据,从而获取最准确的脉搏率读数。

概览

免责声明:本应用仅用于演示和说明目的,并不构成经过法规审查的服务产品。它并非旨在充当医疗应用。对于此应用输出的准确性不作任何表示,此应用也不附有任何保证。

训练机器学习模型目前是一个异常复杂的计算密集型过程。为实施机器学习,开发人员需要全面了解底层硬件和软件架构,包括如何配置 Spark、如何在即将托管机器学习库的框架内安装这些库,以及如何管理在运行故障处理和恢复的作业。幸运的是,现在开发人员可以使用 IBM Watson Studio,它提供了机器学习即服务。除此之外,开发人员还必须了解机器学习系统的所有底层复杂事宜。

在此 Code Pattern 中,我们将向您展示如何部署基于 Web 的健康应用,此应用使用陀螺仪来测量脉搏,并使用 IBM Cloud 上的 Watson Machine Learning 和 IBM Watson Studio。此健康应用名为 MyPulse,它是一个 Node.js 应用。MyPulse 会读取大约一分钟内生成的实时数据,实时传输此数据以在几秒钟内预测心率,并返回每分钟心跳数 (bpm) 作为评分值。此健康应用可提供其他陀螺仪指标,并将所有数据值存储在 Cloudant 数据库中。它还可在 Watson IoT Platform 上显示这些数据。一切均可实时完成。

此 Code Pattern 为构建现有机器学习模型提供了训练数据。Jupyter Notebook 显示了 Pixiedust 库读取数据的方式。设置 Spark 实例,并将其与机器学习模型相关联。

  1. 用户通过智能手机上的浏览器访问此 Web 应用 (MyPulse)。他们将手机放在胸前来测量脉搏率。
  2. 数据值将实时发送至 IBM Cloud 上的 Cloudant 数据库、Watson IoT Platform,以及 IBM Watson Studio 和 Watson Machine Learning 服务。
  3. Watson Machine Learning 使用已部署的机器学习模型实时验证此数据。
  4. 经过训练的机器学习模型预测的脉搏率值将被发送回此 Web 应用 (MyPulse)。此数据实时显示在应用首页上。用户可以输入自己的值,并接收机器学习模型的即时反馈。

Instructions

可以在 README 中找到本模式的详细步骤。这些步骤将展示如何:
  1. 创建此 Node.js 应用。
  2. 在 IBM Cloud 中设置 Watson Machine Learning 服务。
  3. 在 IBM Cloud 中设置 Watson IoT Platform。
  4. 在 IBM Watson Studio 中设置机器学习模型。
  5. 在您的智能手机上试用此应用。

相关博客

相关链接

保护 IoT 应用程序

学习如何在 Cloudant 数据库中安全地存储 IoT 数据,通过受保护的 API 公开该存储的数据,并从移动和 Web 应用程序调用受保护的 API。

Privacy Preference Center

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?

Taxonomy Icon

Artificial Intelligence

Develop a web-based mobile health app that uses machine learning

Get the code View the demo on your smartphone

Summary

This code pattern shows you how to develop and deploy a web-based app that you run from your mobile phone that checks your pulse rate and then evaluates these pulse rates using machine learning on other studies to get the most accurate values in reading pulse rates.

Description

DISCLAIMER: This application is used for demonstrative and illustrative purposes only and does not constitute an offering that has gone through regulatory review. It is not intended to serve as a medical application. There is no representation as to the accuracy of the output of this application and it is presented without warranty.

Training machine learning models is currently a highly complex and computationally intensive process. To implement machine learning, developers need an overall understanding of the underlying hardware and software infrastructure, including how to configure Spark, how to install machine learning libraries within a framework that will host these libraries, and how to manage the jobs while they are running to handle failures and recovery. Fortunately, developers can now use IBM Watson Studio, which provides machine learning as a service, and have to know all of the underlying complexity of a machine learning system.

In this code pattern, we show you how to deploy a health app, which is web-based, which uses a gyroscope for pulse metrics, and which uses Watson Machine Learning on IBM Cloud and IBM Watson Studio. The health app is called MyPulse, and it is a Node.js app. MyPulse reads the live data that is generated in about a minute, transmits the data in real time to perform predictions on heart rate in seconds, and returns back the beats per minute (bpm) as scoring values. The health app provides other gyroscopic metrics and stores all the data values in a Cloudant database. It displays them on Watson IoT Platform too. All in real-time.

This pattern provides training data to make the existing machine learning model. The Jupyter notebook shows how the data is read by the Pixiedust library. A Spark instance is set up and associated to the machine learning model.

Flow

flow

  1. Users go to the web app (MyPulse) in a browser on their smartphones. They hold the phone to their chest to take their pulse rate.
  2. The data values are sent in real time to the Cloudant database on IBM Cloud, to Watson IoT Platform, and to IBM Watson Studio and the Watson Machine Learning service.
  3. Watson Machine Learning validates the data with the deployed machine learning model in real time.
  4. The predicted pulse rate values from the trained machine learning model is sent back to the web app (MyPulse). The data is displayed on the app’s front page in real time. Users can enter their own values and receive instant feedback from the machine learning model.

Instructions

Find the detailed steps for this pattern in the README. The steps will show you how to:

  1. Create the Node.js app.
  2. Set up the Watson Machine Learning service in IBM Cloud.
  3. Set up the machine learning model in IBM Watson Studio.
  4. Try it out on your smartphone.