让智慧冰箱能够请求替换件  

让联网的智慧冰箱能够请求自己的服务和替换件

Description

物联网 (IoT) 使得制造商及其客户能够将消费电器连接到其他电器与诊断服务及技术支持的网络中,从而达到更加高效的使用效果。受 IoT 支持的电器设备及它们的板载软件,与云中的分析能力相结合,能够改进功能,降低维护成本。电器能够延长寿命,提供更简单、更令人满意的用户体验。

概览

这个 Code Pattern 展示无服务器、事件驱动的架构有能力支持一种云分析工作流,为智慧家用电器提供更好的客户服务。我们演示一种集成了 Watson IoT Platform、OpenWhisk 和 IBM Cloud 服务的从边缘到云端的场景。因为这种新兴应用设计正在成为标准, 所以了解如何充分发挥支持 IoT 的电器的全部优势至关重要。

在这个场景中,一个联网的冰箱将自己的零部件的状态消息发送到 IBM Cloud 中的 Watson IoT Platform 服务。Watson IoT Platform 触发 OpenWhisk 中的 action,以分析消息内容并确定一个零部件是否需要更换。如果一个零部件需要更换,则会检查电器的保修状态。如果该零部件在保修期内,则会自动订购替换件并发送一封通知邮件。如果该零部件不在保修期内,则创建一个待处理订单并发出一个支付授权请求。

  1. 冰箱定期向 IBM Cloud 上的 Watson IoT Platform 服务发送一条包含 JSON 载荷的 MQTT 消息。
  2. 该消息触发一段要在 OpenWhisk 平台上执行的业务逻辑,这段业务逻辑称为一个action,使用 JavaScript 编写。
  3. 第一个操作分析该消息,查看过滤器寿命读数是否在可接受范围内。如果读数正常,则不会执行进一步处理,这提供了一种高效且富有成本效益的工作流。如果该零部件需要更换,则该操作在 Cloudant 数据库中创建一个服务报告。
  4. 新服务报告的创建会触发另一个操作来查找客户和电器登记信息,以确定该电器是否在保修期内。如果它在保修期内,该操作自动订购替换件,并向客户发送一封电子邮件以告知该电器的状态。不需要其他客户输入。如果电器不在保修期内,则创建一个待处理订单,并向客户发送一个支付授权请求。支付被授权后,自动发送待处理订单以完成处理。
  5. 最后一个操作通过电子邮件向客户告知该电器的状态。此操作由替换件订单的创建来触发。当电器的保修期在 30 天内到期时,一个夜间批处理作业会触发一个通知邮件,提醒客户保修即将到期。

相关博客

相关链接

致谢:

感谢郭剑南对此 Code Pattern 的翻译内容的审核,并提供了宝贵的反馈意见。

Taxonomy Icon

IoT

Power your smart fridge to request replacement parts

Get the code View the demo

Summary

The Internet of Things (IoT) enables manufacturers and their customers to make more efficient use of consumer appliances by connecting them to a network of other appliances and diagnostic services and support. IoT-enabled appliances and devices, together with their on-board software, pair with analytics in the cloud to improve functionality and lower the cost of maintenance. The appliance lasts longer and provides a simpler, more positive user experience.

Description

This developer code pattern shows the power of serverless, event-driven architectures to support a cloud analytics workflow that provides better customer service for smarter home appliances. We demonstrate an edge-to-cloud scenario that integrates the Watson IoT Platform, OpenWhisk, and IBM Cloud services. It’s important to know how to maximize the full benefits of your IoT-enabled appliances because this emerging type of application design is becoming the standard.

In this scenario, a network-connected refrigerator sends status messages about its parts to the Watson IoT Platform service in IBM Cloud. The Watson IoT Platform triggers actions in OpenWhisk to analyze the message content and determine whether a part requires replacement. If a part requires replacement, the warranty status of the appliance is checked. If the part is under warranty, a replacement is automatically ordered and an email notification is sent. If the part is no longer under warranty, a pending order is created and a request for authorization of payment is issued.

Flow

flow

  1. The refrigerator periodically sends an MQTT message with a JSON payload to the Watson IoT Platform service on IBM Cloud.
  2. The message triggers a piece of business logic, called an action, that is written in JavaScript to execute on the OpenWhisk platform.
  3. The first action analyzes the message to see whether, for example, the filter life reading is within an acceptable range. If the reading is normal, no further processing is done, which provides a highly efficient and cost-effective workflow. If the part needs to be replaced, the action creates a service report in a Cloudant database.
  4. Another action, which is triggered by the creation of that new service report, looks up the customer and appliance registration information to determine whether the appliance is under warranty. If it is under warranty, the action automatically orders the replacement part and sends an email notification about the status of the appliance to the customer. No further customer input is needed. If the appliance is not under warranty, a pending order is created and a payment authorization request is sent to the customer. When payment is authorized, the pending order is automatically sent for completion.
  5. A final action alerts the customer by email about the status of the appliance. This action is triggered by the creation of the replacement part order. When the appliance warranty is within 30 days of expiring, an overnight batch job triggers an email notification to alert the customer that the warranty is about to run out.

Instructions

Find the detailed steps for this pattern in the README.