在 Linux 大型机上运行云原生工作负载  

在 LinuxONE 上使用 Docker 部署和运行开源云原生工作负载

Description

开源现已成为创建云原生软件的主流方法,大部分基于容器的创新的核心都是 Docker。本 Code Pattern 将演示现代开发生态系统如何适应企业系统,及其对于安全性、成熟度和高性能的重视。

概览

开源现已成为创建软件的主流模式。根据 2016 年 Black Duck 调研, 65% 的受访者使用开放源码来开发软件,超过 55% 在生产基础架构中使用开源软件,76% 计划使用容器。

现代技术堆栈以云原生开源软件和容器为核心,这是前所未有的。但我们如何将这种快速变迁的开源和容器生态系统应用于大型机?大型机是企业的主干,每天处理 300 亿起事务,并托管 80% 的企业数据。开发人员希望将这种已确立的业务支柱与全新的开发范式相结合。

LinuxONE 操作系统专为这些企业系统而设计,同时也是适用于构建和运行开源软件的良好环境。在本 Code Pattern 中,我们将向您展示如何在 LinuxONE 上使用 Docker 运行开源云原生工作负载。您将学习如何按现状使用 Docker Hub 中现有的 LinuxONE Docker 镜像来部署开源工作负载。如果您所需的镜像不存在该怎么办?我们将向您展示如何创建您自己的 Docker 镜像来处理工作负载。

云原生、Docker 和开源 – 当今若不使用这些词,恐怕就很难展开技术对话。如果您希望确保自己掌握的开发技能既可处理新编程方法又能处理既定环境,那么本 Code Pattern 就是为您而准备的。

  1. 用户访问 LinuxONE Community Cloud,在 Docker Hub 中搜索带有特定标签的、可用于 LinuxONE 的 Docker 镜像。在此案例中,用户下载 WebSphere Liberty 镜像,将其部署在 LinuxONE 机器上,并推送一个 Java 样本应用。
  2. 用户选择一个需要将多个容器部署在一起的应用,此例中为 WordPress。用户安装 Docker Compose,以此为基础在 LinuxONE 上构筑 WordPress 的多组件部署。
  3. 对于涉及 MEAN(MongoDB、Express、Angular 和 Node.js)应用的工作负载,Docker Hub 中不存在 LinuxONE Docker 镜像。用户创建 Docker 镜像来运行 MEAN 堆栈部署。

相关博客

相关链接

利用 Gradle 构建 Docker 镜像

本文基于 Gradle 提供另外一种无需安装 Docker Toolbox 并且同时可以兼容 Linux 和 Windows 平台下生成 Docker Image 的方案。

Docker:带给现代开发人员的福利

使用 Docker 更富有成效地编码,更高效地扩展您的技能。简化您的开发环境,消除依赖项冲突,并使用容器化的应用程序来减少开发和学习时间。

开源技术

帮助您使用开源技术进行开发并在 IBM 产品中使用这些技术。

Taxonomy Icon

Cloud

Run cloud-native workloads on a Linux mainframe

Get the code View the demo

Summary

Open source is now the dominant method for creating cloud-native software, with Docker at the center of most container-based innovations. This developer journey demonstrates how the modern development ecosystem fits with enterprise systems and their emphasis on security, maturity, and high performance.

Description

Open source is now the dominant model for creating software. According to a 2016 Black Duck survey, 65% of respondents use open source to develop software, more than 55% use open source software in production infrastructure, and 76% plan to use containers.

More than ever, the modern technology stack is centered on cloud-native open source software and containers. But how do we bring this fast-moving open source and container ecosystem to mainframes? The mainframe is the backbone of the enterprise, running 30 billion transactions per day and hosting 80% of all corporate data. Developers are looking to blend this established business mainstay with the new development paradigm.

The LinuxONE operating system is designed for these enterprise systems…and also happens to be a great environment to build and run open source software. In this pattern, we’ll show you how you can run open source cloud-native workloads on LinuxONE using Docker. You’ll learn how to use existing LinuxONE Docker images from the Docker hub as-is to deploy open source workloads. And if the images you need don’t exist? We’ll show you how to create your own Docker images to handle the workload.

Cloud native, Docker, and open source – it’s hard to have a technical conversation today without using these words. If you’re looking to ensure you have the development skills to handle both new programming methods and established environments, this pattern is for you.

Flow

flow

  1. Download WebSphere Liberty image, deploy it on the LinuxONE machine, and push a Java sample application.
  2. Install Docker Compose and craft a multicomponenet deployment.
  3. Create Docker images to run the MEAN stack deployment.

Instructions

  1. Install docker.
  2. Install docker-compose.
  3. Install and run WebSphere Liberty.
  4. Install and run WordPress.