部署无服务器函数以响应消息并处理数据流  

利用 OpenWhisk 分析 Event Streams 记录

| By Olaph Wagoner

Description

当今许多云原生应用程序中,都会生成海量数据,这些数据用于链接高度分散的服务。Apache Kafka 提供的系统可流送大量消息,但接收这些消息的系统必须同样能够逐条处理记录并执行操作。

利用基于 OpenWhisk 而构建的事件驱动型架构,您可以编写相关功能来响应队列中的消息和执行逻辑以处理数据,或将数据发送至分布式架构中的其他系统。您只需为运行分析函数期间所使用的资源付费。此方法可使所处理的事务与使用的云资源密切匹配。

此方法可确保将事件驱动型无服务器架构应用于新的云原生应用程序,例如,那些支持海量数据流的消息处理的应用程序。您可即时开始处理大量消息,而无需担心是否有足够的服务器来管理大量数据。

概览

本 Code Pattern 举例说明了如何通过 Cloud Functions 来部署参考架构,执行代码以响应消息或处理数据记录流。当消息通过 Event Streams 服务(由 Apache Kafka 支持)到达后才会运行代码。运行代码后,函数实例将启动,并自动伸缩以匹配处理消息流所需的负载。

您可通过 Cloud Functions 用户界面或者使用自有系统上的命令行工具来部署此参考架构。

如果尚未注册 IBM Cloud 帐户,应进行注册,并访问 Cloud Functions 仪表板,浏览其他参考架构模板,根据需要下载命令行工具。

本 Code Pattern 中使用了以下组件:

此应用程序会部署两个 IBM Cloud Functions(基于 Apache OpenWhisk),用于在 IBM Event Streams(基于 Apache Kafka)上读取和写入消息。此用例演示了如何处理数据服务和执行逻辑来响应消息事件。

含一条或多条数据记录的消息流会触发一个函数或操作。这些记录会按顺序传送到序列中的另一项操作,这种方法以声明方式将链中的操作链接在一起。第二项操作会对消息加以聚合,并向另一个主题发布转换后的汇总消息。

通过使用本 Code Pattern,您将学会如下技能:

  • 无服务器计算:利用 Cloud Functions 部署参考架构,运行代码以响应消息。
  • Kafka:处理数据服务和执行逻辑以响应消息事件。

  1. 开发者模拟客户端发布应用程序,将新的 JSON 对象数组放置到 Apache Kafka 主题上。
  2. 此消息会触发一个触发器事件,用于侦听发送到该主题的消息。
  3. 此触发器通过规则映射到第一项操作,以便下载并解析消息数组。
  4. 随后,消息数组会被发送到序列中的另一项操作,以将数据聚合或缩减为一条消息。
  5. 第二项操作会向另一个 Event Streams 队列发布新消息,供其他应用程序处理。

Instructions

可以在 GitHub 存储库的 README.md 文件中找到本 Code Pattern 的详细技术步骤。

  1. 通过 Cloud Functions 控制台用户界面进行部署。
  2. 使用 wskdeploy 命令行工具进行部署。
  3. 使用其他部署方法。

相关博客

相关链接

英文原文

本 Code Pattern 翻译自:Deploy serverless functions that respond to messages and handle streams(2018-12-13)

IBM Cloud Functions 入门

IBM Cloud Functions(基于 Apache OpenWhisk)是函数即服务 (FaaS) 平台,可执行函数以响应传入事件,并且在不使用时不会产生任何开销

IBM Cloud

一个横跨公共、私有和混合环境的全栈式云平台。

Deploy serverless functions that respond to messages and handle streams

Get the code

Summary

In many of today’s cloud-native applications, data is generated as huge volumes and is used to link highly distributed services. Apache Kafka provides a system to stream messages at scale, but the systems that receive those messages must be able to process and act on individual records as well.

With an event-driven architecture built on OpenWhisk, you can write functions that respond to messages from queues and execute logic to process or send data to other systems in a distributed architecture. And you pay only for the resources consumed by your analytics functions for the fractions of a second that they run. This approach gives you a tight match between transactions processed and cloud resources used.

This approach is the promise of an event-driven, serverless architecture for new cloud-native applications such as those that support high volume stream-based message processing. You can start processing messages at scale, not worrying about whether you’ll have enough servers manage the volume.

Description

This code pattern code is an example of how to deploy a reference architecture with Cloud Functions to execute code in response to messages or to handle streams of data records. No code runs until messages arrive through the Event Streams service (powered by Apache Kafka). When that happens, function instances are started and automatically scale to match the load needed to handle the stream of messages.

You deploy this reference architecture through the Cloud Functions user interface or by using command line tools on your own system.

If you haven’t already, sign up for an IBM Cloud account and go to the Cloud Functions dashboard to explore other reference architecture templates and download command line tools, if needed.

The following components are used in this code pattern:

The application deploys two IBM Cloud Functions (based on Apache OpenWhisk) that read from and write messages to IBM Event Streams (based on Apache Kafka). This demonstrates how to work with data services and execute logic in response to message events.

One function, or action, is triggered by message streams of one or more data records. These records are piped to another action in a sequence (a way to link actions declaratively in a chain). The second action aggregates the message and posts a transformed summary message to another topic.

When you use this code pattern, you learn the following skills:

  • Serverless computing: Deploy a reference architecture with Cloud Functions to run code in response to messages.
  • Kafka: Work with data services and execute logic in response to message events.

Flow

flow

  1. The developer simulates a client publishing application and puts a new array of JSON objects onto an Apache Kafka topic.
  2. The message fires an event called a trigger that listens for messages sent to that topic.
  3. The trigger is mapped to the first action by a rule, which downloads and parses the message array.
  4. The message array is then sent to another action in a sequence to aggregate, or reduce, the data to a single message.
  5. The second action posts the new message to another Event Streams queue for another application to process.

Instructions

Find detailed technical steps for this code pattern in the README.md file in the GitHub repository.

  1. Deploy through the Cloud Functions console user interface.
  2. Deploy using the wskdeploy command line tool.
  3. Use alternative deployment methods.