开源技术 * IBM 微讲堂:Kubeflow 系列(观看回放 | 下载讲义) 了解详情

构建 Tekton Pipeline 以将移动应用程序后端部署到 OpenShift 4

现在,OpenShift 4.3 可以在 IBM Cloud 上使用,它提供了一些令人兴奋且备受关注的新功能。最让我激动的一项新功能是可以在 OpenShift Web 控制台中查看 Tekton Pipeline 资源。

虽然可以继续使用 Tekton 仪表板来查看 Tekton 资源状况,但 OpenShift 4 中提供的这项新功能可以在用户界面 (UI) 中查看 Tekton 资源状况,如以下截屏所示。

在 OpenShift Web 控制台中查看 Tekton Pipeline

为了演示 OpenShift 上 Tekton 的一些功能,本教程部署了 Example Bank 实例,这是一个示例客户信用卡应用程序。本教程描述了如何将通过移动银行应用程序后端来关注数据隐私 Code Pattern 的手动部署转换到 Tekton Pipeline。

本教程中的示例使用了 Red Hat® OpenShift® on IBM Cloud™

前提条件

要完成本 Tekton OpenShift 教程,您需要以下环境:

  • 一个 Red Hat OpenShift on IBM Cloud 集群(配置此集群是为了设置流水线)。如果需要创建一个集群,那么可以使用 IBM Cloud Web 控制台ibmcloud CLI。如果使用后者,那么本教程可能会派上用场。注意:本教程与 Cloud Pak for Applications 不兼容。您需要一个空集群。

  • 包括 kubectloc 在内的几个 CLI(可在此处找到)。

  • 在开始本教程之前,需要先完成主 Code Pattern 中的几个步骤。完成前提条件部署部分,以在 example-bank 项目中设置 App ID 实例、PostgreSQL 数据库和完整的 Kubernetes 密钥。

预估时间

在满足前提条件后,完成本教程大约需要 30 分钟,其中包括运行流水线所需的时间。

了解 Example Bank 应用程序

Example Bank 是一个示例应用程序,旨在展示如何奖励应用程序的用户。它源于在多个会议上实施的项目(大家还记得那些日子吗?),用于参与者注册和分发收益。

Example Bank 图

本教程将通过流水线来部署 Example Bank 的后端。它由几个微服务组成,包括两个分别用于跟踪事件和用户的 Java 服务、一个用于删除用户数据的夜间服务、一个 Node.js 前端以及一个用于跟踪所有这些信息的 PostgresSQL 实例。

用于设置流水线的步骤

首先,需要安装 Tekton Pipelines 本身。然后,您可以应用运行特定于此练习的流水线所需的所有资源。

1. 定位集群

登录到您的 IBM Cloud 帐户,并导航至 OpenShift 集群的概述页面。单击右上角的 OpenShift web console 按钮。在 Web 控制台上,单击右上角的菜单(标签包含您的电子邮件地址),然后选择 Copy Login Command。将该命令粘贴到本地控制台窗口中。它应类似于以下示例:

oc login https://c100-e.us-east.containers.cloud.ibm.com:XXXXX --token=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

2. 安装 Tekton

接下来是安装 Tekton。从 OpenShift Web 控制台左侧的导航菜单中,选择 Operators –> Operators Hub,然后搜索 OpenShift Pipelines Operator。单击此图块,然后单击随后的 Install 按钮。保留 Create Operator Subscription 页面上的默认设置,然后单击 Subscribe

3. 创建新项目

返回到本地控制台,通过创建一个新项目来将工具与应用程序分开:

oc new-project bank-infra

4. 创建服务帐户

为确保流水线具有将镜像存储在本地 OpenShift 注册表的相应权限,您需要创建一个服务帐户。在本教程中将其称为“pipeline”。

oc create serviceaccount pipeline
oc adm policy add-scc-to-user privileged -z pipeline
oc adm policy add-role-to-user edit -z pipeline
oc policy add-role-to-user edit system:serviceaccount:bank-infra:pipeline -n example-bank

最后一条命令会向该服务帐户授予 example-bank 项目的访问权限。您应该已在满足前提条件的过程中创建了该项目。

5. 安装任务

从本质上讲,Tekton Pipeline 是一系列单独的任务。本教程将使用多个任务,但您可以通过克隆主 Code Pattern 存储库并定位 pipelines/tasks 文件夹来一次安装所有任务:

git clone https://github.com/IBM/example-bank
cd example-bank/pipeline
oc apply -f tasks

6. 创建流水线

流水线文件 (example-bank-pipeline.yaml) 将流水线的所有任务链接在一起,在此例中,任务包括:扫描代码、将代码构建到镜像中以及部署和公开这些镜像。

kubectl apply -f example-bank-pipeline.yaml

威胁测试步骤

我提到过代码扫描吗?继续完成此次练习,进一步创建流水线,并通过包含名为 SonarQube 的应用程序来引入威胁测试。SonarQube 是用于检查代码库的开源软件。它支持多种语言。SonarQube 可以报告错误和安全漏洞,还可以报告其他方面的有用信息,例如代码覆盖率和单元测试。本教程使用 SonarQube 测试代码以发现漏洞。

1. 部署 SonarQube 实例

存储库中还有一个文件描述了部署 SonarQube 所需的所有设置。Deployment 列出了 SonarQube 所需的所有卷和安装路径。另外,ServiceRoute 允许公开访问该应用程序。在一个文件中包含了以下所有信息:

oc apply -f sonarqube.yaml

2. 创建 PVC

您还需要一个持久卷声明。这样,流水线中的任务可以在一个公共位置中编写要相互共享的信息:

oc apply -f bank-pvc.yaml

3. 运行流水线

最后,借助漏洞扫描器,您可以使用 PipelineRun 文件运行忠诚度流水线:

oc create -f bank-pipelinerun.yaml

每当需要重新扫描和/或重新部署代码库时,只需运行该命令即可。

结果

现在分享一下我们的劳动成果!SonarQube 具有自己的 Web 界面。要访问该界面,可在 OpenShift Web 控制台中导航至 loyalty-infra 项目。从左侧的菜单中,选择 Networking,然后选择 Routes

loyalty_routes

选择 SonarQube 的 URL,并查看安装的统计信息:

sonarqube_results

全是绿色的!由于此处没有漏洞,因此可以通过单击来查看代码行的统计信息:

sonar_loc

返回到 Routes 页面,您还可以找到新安装的 Example Bank 应用程序的用户界面 URL。对于 loyalty-mobile-simulator-service

模拟器

结束语

如您所见,Tekton Pipeline 的功能十分强大,它可以自动处理一些重要的工作负载。与镜像代码库位于同一集群中,这种云原生的持续部署方法可以进行无缝部署,而无需手动操作。利用 OpenShift 4.3 中的新功能,可以更轻松地了解 Tekton Pipeline 的情况。

在动手实践此示例之后,您可以探索如何在自己的安装中使用流水线!

后续步骤

利用以下内容中的开源代码和说明来了解在使用 OpenShift 4.3 构建安全的云应用程序时执行的步骤:

本文翻译自:Build a Tekton Pipeline to deploy a mobile app back end to OpenShift 4(2020-08-04)

Build a Tekton Pipeline to deploy a mobile app back end to OpenShift 4

Now that OpenShift 4.3 is available on IBM Cloud, there’s a lot of chatter regarding exciting new capabilities. One of the flashier components that I’m most excited about is the ability to view Tekton Pipeline resources from the OpenShift web console. While the Tekton Dashboard is still a great way to view what’s going on with your Tekton resources, this new functionality, part of OpenShift 4, makes it available in the user interface (UI), which you can see in the following screen capture.

View of Tekton Pipelines from the OpenShift web console

To demonstrate some of the capabilities of Tekton, this tutorial deploys an instance of Example Loyalty, an example customer rewards application. This tutorial describes how to convert the manual deployment of the Focus on data privacy with a back end for a mobile loyalty app code pattern into a Tekton Pipeline.

The examples in this tutorial use Red Hat® OpenShift® on IBM Cloud™.

Prerequisites

To complete this tutorial, you need the following environment:

  • A Red Hat OpenShift on IBM Cloud cluster already provisioned to enable you to set up a pipeline. If you need to create one, you can use the IBM Cloud web console or the ibmcloud CLI. When using the latter, this tutorial may come in handy. NOTE: This tutorial is not compatable with Cloud Pak for Applications. You will need an empty cluster.

  • A few CLIs, including kubectl and oc, which can be found here.

  • There are a few steps from the main code pattern that need to be implemented before starting the tutorial. Complete the Prerequisites and Deployment sections to set up an App ID instance, a PostgreSQL database, and the integral kubernetes secrets in an example-loyalty project.

Estimated time

After the prerequisites are met, this tutorial takes approximately 30 minutes to complete, including the time required for the pipeline to run.

Understand the Example Loyality app

Example Loyalty is an example app set up to show how you can reward users of your application. It grew out of a project implemented at several conferences (Ah, remember those days?) to register attendees and distribute swag.

Example Loyalty diagram

The back end of Example Loyalty is what this tutorial deploys through a pipeline. It consists of several microservices, including two Java services to keep track of events and users respectively, a nightly service to delete user data, a Node.js front end, and a PostgresSQL instance to keep track of it all.

Steps for setting up a pipeline

To get started, you first need to install Tekton Pipelines itself. Then you can apply all the resources you need to run the pipeline specific to this exercise.

1. Target your cluster

Log in to your IBM Cloud account and navigate to the overview page for your OpenShift cluster. Click on the OpenShift web console button in the upper right corner. On web console, click the menu in the upper right corner (the label contains your email address), and select Copy Login Command. Paste the command into your local console window. It should resemble the following example:

$ oc login https://c100-e.us-east.containers.cloud.ibm.com:XXXXX --token=XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

2. Install Tekton

Next up, Tekton installation:

$ kubectl apply --filename https://storage.googleapis.com/tekton-releases/pipeline/latest/release.notags.yaml

3. Create a new project

Let us separate the tools from the application by creating a new project:

$ oc new-project loyalty-infra

4. Create a service account

To make sure the pipeline has the appropriate permissions to store images in the local OpenShift registry, you need to create a service account. For this tutorial, call it “pipeline”.

$ oc create serviceaccount pipeline
$ oc adm policy add-scc-to-user privileged -z pipeline
$ oc adm policy add-role-to-user edit -z pipeline
$ oc policy add-role-to-user edit system:serviceaccount:loyalty-infra:pipeline -n example-loyalty

That last command grants your service account access to the example-loyalty project. You should have created it as part of the prerequisites.

5. Install tasks

Tekton Pipelines are essentially a chain of of individual tasks. This tutorial uses serveral tasks, but you can install them all at once by cloning the main code pattern repo and then targeting the pipelines/tasks folder:

$ git clone https://github.com/IBM/loyalty.git
$ cd loyalty/pipeline
$ oc apply -f tasks

6. Create the pipeline

The pipeline file (example-health-pipeline.yaml) links together all the tasks of your pipeline, in this case consisting of: code scanning, building code into an image, and then deploying and exposing those images.

$ kubectl apply -f example-loyalty-pipeline.yaml

Steps for threat testing

Did I say code scanning? Let’s take this exercise in creating a pipeline a step further and introduce threat testing by including an application called SonarQube. SonarQube is open source software for inspecting a code base. It supports a plethora of languages. SonarQube can report on bugs and security vulnerabilities, as well as other helpful areas like code coverage and unit tests. This tutorial uses SonarQube to test code for vulnerabilities.

1. Deploy an instance of SonarQube

Another file in the repo describes all the settings needed for a deployment of SonarQube. A Deployment lists all the volumes and mount paths SonarQube requires. Additionally, a Service and Route allow the app to be publicly accessible. One file contains all this information:

$ oc apply -f sonarqube.yaml

2. Create a PVC

You also need a Persistant Volume Claim. It allows the tasks in the pipeline to have a common place to write information to share with one another:

oc apply -f loyalty-pvc.yaml

3. Run the pipeline

Finally, with your vulnerability scanner in place, you can run your loyalty pipeline using a PipelineRun file:

$ oc create -f loyalty-pipelinerun.yaml

Anytime you need to rescan and/or redeploy your code base, simply run that command.

Results

Now to enjoy the fruits of our labor! SonarQube has its own web interface. To get to it, navigate to the loyalty-infra project in the OpenShift web console. From the menu on the left, select Networking and then Routes:

loyalty_routes

Select the URL for SonarQube and check out the stats for your installation:

sonarqube_results

All green! Since there are no vulnerabilites here, you can click through to check out the stats for the lines of code:

sonar_loc

Back on the Routes page, you can also find the URL for the user interface of your freshly installed Example Loyalty app. For the loyalty-mobile-simulator-service:

simulator

Summary

As you can see, Tekton Pipelines are powerful, allowing you to automate some significant workloads. Housed within the same cluster as your imaged code base, this cloud-native approach to continuous deployment can become seamless and hands-free.

After practicing with this example, you can explore ideas for using pipelines in your own installations!