将 Java 微服务部署在支持多语言的 Kubernetes 上  

将 Java 微服务部署在多语言生态系统内的 Kubernetes 上

| By Animesh Singh, Anthony Amanse

Description

任何应用程序都不是孤立的。如今,开发人员正在采用集成式微服务和云原生的微服务架构。那么在目前的新应用架构中,微服务需要与多语言环境共存。在这个 Code Pattern 中,将学习如何部署一个Java 微服务,并借助服务发现、注册和路由等能力,来与其他多语言微服务并行。

概览

在多语言的世界中,微服务不能只依赖于语言原生框架来完成服务发现、路由和其他任务,它需要与其他多语言服务一起部署。本 Code Pattern 将展示如何在多语言生态系统内部署一个基于 Java 的微服务应用程序,该应用程序名为 “GameOn!”。

该应用程序是一个基于文本的复古冒险游戏,旨在帮助您探索微服务架构和相关概念。该应用程序在 Kubernetes 集群上运行,拥有两种类型的微服务:核心和平台。核心微服务是用 Java 编写的,它还调用了其他多语言服务来获得支持以完成业务。在这种模式下,微服务要么使用 sidecars 作为在同一个微服务容器内的进程,要么使用单独的容器 sidecars 来利用平台服务进行服务发现、注册和路由。所有这些微服务都在一个 Kubernetes 集群管理的 Docker 容器中运行。

  1. 用户通过一个基于 HAProxy 的代理访问在 Kubernetes 上的 GameOn! 部署,该代理负责将 API 集合呈现为整个应用程序的单一方面。WebApp 是一个简单的 NGINX 进程,用于向客户端设备提供 Web 前端。
  2. 用户连接到 Player 微服务来玩游戏。该微服务提供了一个公共 API 来执行 CRUD 操作和管理 API 令牌。
  3. Player 微服务使用 Auth Java 微服务向选定的社交登录服务验证用户,并使用经过验证的玩家的个人资料和进度数据来响应客户端。
  4. 前端客户端需要建立一个与 Mediator 服务进行通信的 WebSocket,然后才能开始玩游戏。Mediator 服务是在 Java 中使用 WebSphere Liberty 实现的,并通过 WebSocket 将玩家连接到各个房间。
  5. 用户单击一个逐步解说样本中的一个按钮,创建一个新房间。
  6. 开发人员在房间实现中使用 Map 微服务,确保已使用最新的连接信息注册了该房间。Map 服务是一个在 WebSphere Liberty 上运行的 Java EE 应用程序,它使用 JAX-RS 提供一个公共 REST API。
  7. Map 服务查验 Player 服务,根据与开发人员相关的 API 令牌来确保允许开发人员更新房间的信息。
  8. 当用户导航到有效的房间服务时,Mediator 服务就会与该现场房间服务建立 WebSocket 连接。

相关博客

相关链接

致谢:

感谢姚炳雄对此 Code Pattern 的翻译内容的审核,并提供了宝贵的反馈意见。

Deploy Java microservices on Kubernetes with polyglot support

Get the code

Summary

No application is an island. Today, developers are adopting integrated microservices and cloud-native microservices architectures. But with current application architectures, microservices need to co-exist in polyglot environments. In this code pattern, you learn how to deploy a Java microservices application that runs alongside other polyglot microservices, using service discovery, registration, and routing.

Description

In a polyglot world, microservices need to be deployed together and can’t simply rely on language native frameworks for service discovery, routing, and other tasks. This pattern shows you how to deploy a Java-based microservices application called “GameOn!” within a polyglot ecosystem.

The application is a throwback text-based adventure game built to help you explore microservice architectures and related concepts. The app runs on a Kubernetes cluster and has two types of microservices: core and platform. The core microservices are written in Java and use polyglot services for support. With this kind of pattern, microservices either use sidecars as processes inside the same microservice container or use separate container sidecars to leverage platform services for service discovery, registration, and routing. All of the microservices run in Docker containers managed by a Kubernetes cluster.

Flow

flow

  1. The user visits the GameOn! deployment on Kubernetes through a proxy, which is based on HAProxy and is responsible for surfacing the collection of APIs as a single facade for the entire application. WebApp is a simple NGINX process that provides the web front end to the client device.
  2. The user interacts with the Player microservice to play the game. The microservice provides a public API for CRUD operations, and for managing API tokens.
  3. The Player microservice uses the Auth Java microservice to authenticate the user with the selected social sign-on service and responds to the client with profile and progress data for the authenticated player.
  4. The front-end client establishes a WebSocket to the Mediator service to begin playing the game. The Mediator service is implemented in Java using WebSphere Liberty, and it connects players to rooms over WebSockets.
  5. The user creates a room by clicking a button in one of the sample walkthroughs.
  6. The developer uses the Map microservice within the room implementation to ensure that the room is registered with the latest connection information. The Map service is a Java EE application running on WebSphere Liberty that provides a public REST API using JAX-RS.
  7. The Map service checks with the Player service to ensure that the developer is permitted to update information about the room, based on an API token associated with the developer.
  8. The Mediator service establishes WebSocket connections to the live Room service when the users navigate to the room.

Instructions

Ready to put this code pattern to use? Complete details on how to get started running and using this application are in the README.md file.