利用物联网传感器数据预测设备故障  

了解利用多变量物联网数据收集传感器数据并运行算法的预测方法

Description

注意:本 Code Pattern 是一个 Code Pattern 系列的一部分。这些 Code Pattern 可能是独立的应用程序,也可能是另一个 Code Pattern 的延续。这个 Code Pattern 系列包括:

物联网设备故障预测包括收集传感器数据并运行算法,从而预测即将出现的故障。核心构件块包括识别导致设备故障的特性或因素。然后,您可以配置一个预测性模型来训练模型,接着对测试数据进行评分,检测预测性模型的可靠性。这里使用 Python 2.0 软件,并将样本传感器数据加载到 IBM Watson Studio 云中。

概览

在典型的零售链中,每家商店都有数百台设备,分布在不同地理位置的数千个店面中。在这种情况下,安排预防性维护变得非常困难,基于规则的系统发出的错误警报则使得情况雪上加霜,实际检测表明,这些警报都是一些不太严重的警报,比如制冷装置的门被打开等等。

利用高级预测性方法,您将能够从预定的预防性维护转变为预测性维护。本开发者 Pattern 适用于想要试验、学习、增强和实施新方法来利用物联网传感器数据预测设备故障的任何人。安装在物联网设备上的传感器、自动化的制造机器人手臂和流程监视控制设备可以持续收集并传输数据。

第一步就是利用由单个物联网传感器生成的时间序列数据,发现系统性能上的任何重大变化。关于这个主题的详细流程,可参阅开发者 Pattern 检测物联网传感器数据中的变点。

一旦在物联网设备的关键运营参数中检测到变点,就需要通过测试来预测这种新变化是否会导致某个设备出现故障。本 Pattern 全面讲述了利用多变量物联网数据预测设备故障的预测方法,为此,已实施使用逻辑回归的二项式预测算法。我们使用 Python 2.0 中的预测软件包,将样本传感器数据加载到 IBM Watson Studio 云中。中间步骤已经实现模块化,所有代码均为开源代码,支持您根据自己的应用程序使用或修改模块和子模块。

完成此 Code Pattern 后,您将掌握如何:

  • 读取数据库中存储的物联网传感器数据。
  • 配置预测模型中的功能和目标变量。
  • 通过配置比例,将多变量数据划分为训练数据集和测试数据集。
  • 使用逻辑回归训练模型。
  • 对测试数据进行评分并判断预测准确性。
  • 通过计算混淆算法,对模型的预测性能进行评估。
  • 通过更改配置参数,重新运行试验。

流

  1. 用户注册使用 IBM Watson Studio。
  2. 用户将样本物联网传感器时间序列数据加载到数据库中。
  3. 配置文件保存用于运行物联网时间序列预测算法的关键参数。

Instructions

  1. 用户注册使用 IBM Watson Studio。
  2. 用户将样本物联网传感器时间序列数据加载到数据库中。
  3. 配置文件保存用于运行物联网时间序列预测算法的所有关键参数。
  4. Python 2.0 Jupyter notebook 中所编写的预测算法使用来自数据库的配置参数和传感器数据。
  5. Python Notebook 在 IBM Watson Studio 中的 Spark 上运行,以确保性能和可扩展性。
  6. 预测算法的输出结果保存在对象存储中以供使用。

相关博客

借助 IoT 和 Node-RED 构建 Call for Code 应用

本文详细讲解了“Call For Code” 六大技术板块之一的物联网版块,帮助读者更好的了解“Call For Code”编程挑战赛。

继续阅读 借助 IoT 和 Node-RED 构建 Call for Code 应用

Call for Code 中诞生的“冠军鸭”, 了解一下

2018 年,解决方案 Project Owl 夺得了 Call for Code 全球挑战赛的冠军。这个搭载了物联网技术的软件与硬件结合的解决方案,可以确保在自然灾害发生时,救援先遣队能够与灾民及时联络。

继续阅读 Call for Code 中诞生的“冠军鸭”, 了解一下

使用 The Weather Company API 构建应用

希望您能参与到“Call For Code” 编程挑战赛中来,充分利用各种公开可用的天气 API,创建解决方案来缓解自然灾害的影响。

继续阅读 使用 The Weather Company API 构建应用

相关链接

英文原文

本 Code Pattern 翻译自:Predict equipment failure using IoT sensor data(2018-02-07)

Predict equipment failure using IoT sensor data

Get the code View the demo

Note: This pattern is part of a composite pattern. These are code patterns that can be stand-alone applications or might be a continuation of another code pattern. This composite pattern consists of:

Summary

IoT equipment failure prediction involves collecting sensor values and running algorithms to anticipate impending failures. Core building blocks include identifying the features or factors contributing to equipment failures. Then you configure a predictive model to train the model, followed by scoring the test data to check the reliability of the predictive model. Python 2.0 software is used, with sample sensor data loaded into the IBM Watson Studio cloud.

Description

In a typical retail chain, there are hundreds of pieces of equipment in each store, spread across thousands of store locations across geographic locations. In such scenarios, it becomes difficult to schedule preventive maintenance – more so due to false alarms raised by rule-based systems that turn out to be less serious alerts upon actual inspection, such as an open door on a refrigeration unit.

Advanced predictive methods will enable you to switch from scheduled preventive maintenance to predictive maintenance. This developer pattern is intended for anyone who wants to experiment, learn, enhance, and implement a new method for predicting equipment failure using IoT sensor data. Sensors mounted on IoT devices, automated manufacturing robot arms, and process monitoring control equipment collect and transmit data on a continuous basis.

The first step is to identify any substantial shift in system performance using time-series data generated by a single IoT sensor. For a detailed flow on this topic, refer to the developer pattern “Detect change points in IoT sensor data.”

Once a change point is detected in a key operating parameter of the IoT equipment, it makes sense to follow it up with a test to predict if this recent shift will result in the failure of a piece of equipment. This pattern is an end-to-end walk-through of a prediction methodology that utilizes multivariate IoT data to predict equipment failures. A binomial prediction algorithm using logistic regression is implemented for this purpose. We use predictive packages in Python 2.0, with sample sensor data loaded into the IBM Watson Studio cloud. The intermediary steps are modularized, and all code is open-sourced to enable you to use or modify the modules and sub-modules as you see fit for your application.

When you have completed this pattern, you will understand how to:

  • Read IoT sensor data stored in the database.
  • Configure the features and target variables for prediction model.
  • Split the multivariate data into train and test datasets by configuring the ratio.
  • Train the model using logistic regression.
  • Score the test data and measure prediction accuracy.
  • Evaluate the model’s predictive performance by computing a confusion matrix.
  • Re-run experiments by changing configuration parameters.

Flow

flow

  1. User signs up for IBM Watson Studio.
  2. User loads sample IoT sensor time-series data to database.
  3. A configuration file holds key parameters for running the IoT time-series prediction algorithm.

Instructions

  1. User signs up for IBM Data Science experience.
  2. User loads the sample IoT sensor Time series data to database.
  3. A configuration file holds all the key parameters for running the IoT Time series prediction algorithm.
  4. The prediction algorithm written in Python 2.0 Jupyter notebook uses the Configuration parameters and Sensor data from DB.
  5. Python Notebook runs on Spark in IBM Watson Studio to ensure performance and scalability.
  6. The outputs of the prediction algorithm is saved in Object storage for consumption.