开源技术 * IBM 微讲堂:Kubeflow 系列(观看回放 | 下载讲义) 了解详情

开始使用 Red Hat OpenShift 4 网络

对于一般系统管理员而言,使用用户配置的基础架构 (UPI) 部署 Red Hat Openshift Container Platform V4 有一定的难度。为此,我编写了一份指南,其中介绍了使用 UPI 在 IBM Z/LinuxONE 硬件上部署 OpenShift 的基础知识。

但是,其中并没有详细介绍 install-config.yaml 配置文件中的 OpenShift 内部网络部分,而这是 UPI 安装方法的关键部分。这就是我要在本简短教程中介绍的内容。

学习目标

本教程可帮助您更好地了解 OpenShift 软件定义网络 (SDN) 的工作方式。它将展示如何配置 OpenShift SDN,以及如何使用示例来了解 install-config.yaml 的网络部分。

前提条件

要完成本教程,您需要具备网络方面的中级知识,因为我将要介绍软件定义网络以及 CIDR 块、子网和网络包封装 (VxLAN)。另外还建议您掌握 OpenShift 架构方面的中级知识。

OpenShift Container Platform 使用软件定义网络 (SDN) 方法提供一个统一集群网络,而 OpenShift Container Platform 集群中的 pod 就是通过这个网络进行通信的。此 pod 网络由 OpenShift SDN 建立和维护,后者使用 Open vSwitch (OVS) 配置了一个重叠网络。

图 1. 两个不同节点上的 pod 间流量

pod 间流量

预估时间

完成本教程大约需要 15 分钟。

步骤

在使用 UPI 方法安装 OpenShift 的过程中,核对表中有一项是编辑 install-config.yaml 文件。此文件包含多个部分,但我将只处理网络部分。

OpenShift 使用以下两种类型的网络:外部网络和内部网络 (SDN)。以下各部分介绍了如何配置内部网络,以及有关如何根据需要调整此配置的所有详细信息。

图 2. OpenShift 网络

OpenShift 网络

我们来从样本 install-config.yaml 文件开始:

apiVersion: v1
baseDomain: <domain> 
compute:
- architecture: s390x
  hyperthreading: Enabled   
  name: worker
  replicas: 0 
controlPlane:
  architecture: s390x
  hyperthreading: Enabled   
  name: master 
  replicas: 3 
metadata:
  name: <cluster_name> 
networking:
  clusterNetwork:
  - cidr: 10.128.0.0/14 
    hostPrefix: 23 
  networkType: OpenShiftSDN
  serviceNetwork: 
  - 172.30.0.0/16
platform:
  none: {} 
fips: false 
pullSecret: '<pull-secret>' 
sshKey: '<ssh-public-key>'

现在,让我们仅关注此配置文件的网络部分,该部分又分为两个主要部分。第一个主要部分是 clusterNetwork

clusterNetwork:
  - cidr: 10.128.0.0/14 
    hostPrefix: 23

clusterNetwork 定义了要用于 OpenShift 集群中所有已创建 pod 的 IP 地址块。(注意:此块不得与现有物理网络重叠。)

hostPrefix: 23 是什么呢?这是分配给每个节点的子网前缀长度。例如,如果将 hostPrefix 设置为 23,那么会为每个节点分配给定 cidr 中的一个 /23 子网,该子网允许 510 (2^(32 – 23) – 2) 个 pod IP 地址。

我们来通过使用 Web 控制台并查询 OpenShift 集群上的一些工作负载来用事实检验这一点:

  • 从左侧菜单中选择 Pods,然后选择 liberty-1-qwqpt pod。验证此 pod 的 IP 是否为 10.128.2.12:

图 3. 选择 pod

选择 pod

注意:这些 Pod 使用的 IP 范围与 CIDR 配置在 install-config-yaml 文件的 clusterNetwork 部分中定义的 IP 范围相同。

现在,可以查看网络部分的另一个部分:

networkType: OpenShiftSDN
  serviceNetwork:
 - 172.30.0.0/16

用事实检验的时刻到来了!使用 OpenShift Web 控制台,从左侧菜单中选择 Networking -> Services,然后选择 Liberty 服务。验证此服务的 IP 是否为 172.30.115.26。

图 4. 验证服务 IP

验证服务 IP

如果要从集群外部访问此应用程序,该怎么做?很简单:从左侧菜单中,选择 Routes -> Create Route。然后为路由设置一个名称,选择一个服务和一个目标端口,然后单击 Create 按钮,如图 5 所示:

图 5. 创建路由

创建路由

在创建路由后,应用程序的标准域名 (FQDN) 将在 Location 下显示为一个超链接,单击该超链接后,将打开默认浏览器,并且允许您从集群外部访问应用程序。

图 6. 标准域名

标准域名

您可能想知道此路由的 IP 是什么。实际上,它与 DNS 基础架构所定义的负载均衡器的 IP 相同。(还记得吗?)

图 7 是 OpenShift 网络(这不是内部集群网络)的直观表示:

图 7. OpenShift 网络

OpenShift 网络

现在可以查看和深入研究 OpenShift 内部集群的直观表示了,但在此之前,我们来先将应用程序扩展到 2 个 pod。在左侧菜单中选择 Deployment Configs,接着选择应用程序的部署配置名称(在此例中为 liberty),然后在 Overview 选项卡下,使用 Deployment Config Overview 下的箭头将应用程序扩展到 2 个 pod:

图 8. 扩展应用程序

扩展应用程序

可以通过从左侧菜单中选择 Pods 来验证该应用程序是否已扩展到 2 个 pod:

图 9. 验证是否扩展了 pod 数量

验证是否扩展了 pod 数量

现在,选择第二个 pod,然后验证其 IP 地址:

图 10. 验证第二个 pod 的 IP 地址

验证第二个 pod 的 IP 地址

您可以看到已为新 pod 分配了 IP 地址 10.131.0.46,该地址在配置文件中指定的范围内。

图 11 提供了服务 IP 以及两个 pod 的 IP 地址的直观表示:

图 11. 服务 IP 以及 pod 的 IP 地址

服务 IP 以及 pod 的 IP 地址

结束语

本教程向您展示了如何在 install-config.yaml 文件的网络部分中定义集群内部 IP 范围,并通过示例演示了 pod 和服务如何从中受益。

注意:对于在 Red Hat CoreOS 安装过程中为 OpenShift 集群中的实际节点(例如 master0、master1、worker0 和 worker1)定义的 IP 地址,它们所属的 IP 范围与 OpenShift 内部使用的 IP 范围(针对 clusterNetwork 和 serviceNetwork)不同,因为它们会将 IP 范围用于外部网络。

致谢:感谢 Brad Hinson 和 Shanna Chan 为本教程做出的贡献。

本文翻译自:Start working with Red Hat OpenShift 4 networks(2020-08-11)

Start working with Red Hat OpenShift 4 networks

Red Hat Openshift Container Platform version 4, when deployed using a User Provisioned Infrastructure (UPI), offers many challenges for the average system administrator. I created a guide that covers the basics of deploying OpenShift on IBM Z/LinuxONE hardware using a UPI.

However, one of the items that I did not cover in detail was the internal network part of OpenShift from the install-config.yaml configuration file, which is a key part of the UPI installation method. So that’s what I will cover in this brief tutorial.

Learning objectives

This tutorial can help you improve your understand of how the OpenShift Software Defined Network (SDN) works. It shows you how to configure the OpenShift SDN, and uses examples to explore the network section of the install-config.yaml.

Prerequisites

To complete this tutorial, you need an intermediate knowledge of networking as we will be covering software-defined networks as well as CIDR blocks, subnets, and network package encapsulation (VxLAN). I also recommend having an intermediate knowledge of the OpenShift architecture.

The OpenShift Container Platform uses a software-defined networking (SDN) approach to provide a unified cluster network that enables communication between pods across the OpenShift Container Platform cluster. This pod network is established and maintained by the OpenShift SDN, which configures an overlay network using Open vSwitch (OVS).

Figure 1. Pod-to-pod traffic on two different nodes

Pod-to-pod traffic

Estimated time

It should take you about 15 minutes to complete this tutorial.

Steps

During the OpenShift installation process using the UPI approach, one of the checklist items is to edit the install-config.yaml file. This file contains many sections, but we will only be working with the networking section.

OpenShift uses two types of networks — an external network and an internal network (SDN). The following sections cover how the internal network is configured and all the details on how to tweak this configuration if needed.

Figure 2. OpenShift networks

OpenShift networks

Let’s start with a sample install-config.yaml file:

apiVersion: v1
baseDomain: <domain> 
compute:
- architecture: s390x
  hyperthreading: Enabled   
  name: worker
  replicas: 0 
controlPlane:
  architecture: s390x
  hyperthreading: Enabled   
  name: master 
  replicas: 3 
metadata:
  name: <cluster_name> 
networking:
  clusterNetwork:
  - cidr: 10.128.0.0/14 
    hostPrefix: 23 
  networkType: OpenShiftSDN
  serviceNetwork: 
  - 172.30.0.0/16
platform:
  none: {} 
fips: false 
pullSecret: '<pull-secret>' 
sshKey: '<ssh-public-key>'

Now let’s focus on just the networking section of this configuration file, which is divided in two major parts. The first is clusterNetwork:

clusterNetwork:
  - cidr: 10.128.0.0/14 
    hostPrefix: 23

clusterNetwork defines the block of IP addresses that will be used for all of the created Pods within your OpenShift cluster. (Note: This block must not overlap with existing physical networks.)

But, what is hostPrefix: 23? That is the subnet prefix length that’s assigned to each individual node. For example, if hostPrefix is set to 23, then each node is assigned a /23 subnet out of the given cidr, which allows for 510 (2^(32 – 23) – 2) pod IPs addresses.

Let’s fact check the statement above by using the web console and by querying some of the workloads I have on my OpenShift cluster:

  • From the left menu, select Pods and then select the liberty-1-qwqpt pod. Verify that the IP of this pod is 10.128.2.12:

Figure 3. Selecting the pod

Selecting the pod

Note that the Pods are using the same IP range that’s defined by the CIDR configuration from the clusterNetwork section of the install-config-yaml file.

Now take a look at the next part of the networking section:

networkType: OpenShiftSDN
  serviceNetwork:
 - 172.30.0.0/16

Fact check time! Using the OpenShift web console, from the lefthand menu select Networking -> Services and select the Liberty service. Verify that the IP for this service is 172.30.115.26.

Figure 4. Verifying the service IP

Verifying the service IP

What if you want to access this application from outside your cluster? Simple: From the left menu, select Routes -> Create Route. Then set a name for the route, select a service and a target port, and then click the Create button as shown in Figure 5:

Figure 5. Creating a route

Creating a route

Once a route is created, the fully qualified domain name (FQDN) of your application appears under Location as a hyperlink that, when clicked, will open your default browser and allow you to access your application from outside your cluster.

Figure 6. Fully qualified domain name

Fully qualified domain name

You might be wondering what IP of this route is. In fact, it’s the same IP as that of your load balancer as defined by your DNS infrastructure. (Remember that?)

Figure 7 is a visual representation of the OpenShift network (not the internal cluster network):

Figure 7. OpenShift network

OpenShift network

Now it’s time to drill down and look at a visual representation of the OpenShift internal cluster — but before we do that, let’s scale our application to 2 pods to make things more interesting. Select Deployment Configs in the left menu, select the deployment config name for your application (in this case, liberty), then under the Overview tab scale to 2 pods using the arrows below Deployment Config Overview:

Figure 8. Scaling an application

Scaling an application

You can verify that the pod was scaled to 2 pods by selecting Pods from the left menu:

Figure 9. Verifying that pods have been scaled

Verifying that pods have been scaled

Now, select the second pod and verify its IP address:

Figure 10. Verifying IP address of second pod

Verifying IP address of second pod

You’ll see that the new pod has been assigned the IP address 10.131.0.46, which is within the range you specified in your configuration file.

Figure 11 gives a visual representation of the service IP and the IP addresses for the two pods:

Figure 11. Service IP and pods’ IP addresses

Service IP and pods' IP addresses

Summary

This tutorial has showed you how to define the cluster internal IP ranges defined in the networking section of the install-config.yaml file, and demonstrated through examples how pods and services benefit from this.

Note that the IP addresses that you define for the actual nodes in your OpenShift cluster during the Red Hat CoreOS installation process — for example master0, master1, worker0, and worker1 — will have different IP ranges than the those used internally by OpenShift (for both clusterNetwork and serviceNetwork) as they will use an IP range for external networks

Acknowledgements: Thanks to Brad Hinson and Shanna Chan, who contributed to this tutorial.